2018 Republic Day: 10 leaders of ASEAN to be invited

Prime News, International, New Delhi, July 8:- The Centre plans to invite 10 leaders of ASEAN to participate in 2018 Republic Day celebrations.

This step from Centre aligns with the ‘Act East’ policy as it will bring together ASEAN leaders of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The other world leaders who have been invited earlier was former US President Barack Obama, former French President François Hollande and UAE Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan as chief guests at Republic Day celebrations.

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj had recently said that India and ASEAN face common traditional and non-traditional security challenges. This was emphasised in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s remarks in 2014 at the India-ASEAN Summit in Myanmar where he stated that India’s ‘Look East Policy’ has become ‘Act East Policy,’ she said.

“Freedom of navigation and respect for international law is therefore vital in this context. Equally, we remain committed with ASEAN to enhance our maritime cooperation, to recognise the full potential of our ocean economy. We will continue to step up cooperation in countering terrorism, piracy and other transnational crimes,” she added.

-(NAV, Inputs; Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles