30 achievers from Mysuru honoured with District Kannada Rajyotsava Award

Mysuru, November 2:- Thirty achievers from various fields from the heritage city were honoured with the District Kannada Rajyotsava Award on Friday.

The awards were presented at the 64th District Rajyotsava Awards ceremony and cultural programmes hosted by the district administration at Kalamandir in the city.

“Goodwill on Kannada land and language should not be limited to publicity and only during the month of November. Along with the goodwill, everyone should come forward to protect Kannada language, land, culture and heritage,” said Mayor Pushpalatha Jagannath.

“Shops, stores and private schools in the city including Devarajs Urs Road and Sayyaji Rao Road have been instructed to use 60 per cent Kannada in their name boards. If orders are not followed, we will definitely make the decision to cancel their licence in the near future,” she warned.

“In other states, their language is always dominant in all nameplates. English letters are usually small in size. The goodwill they show for their language should be a model for us. Kannadigas are very liberal and we have a tolerant and inclusive attitude. That is why Bengaluru has become “Mini India” today. It is necessary to commemorate our elders who fought for Kannada land and language,” she said.

“Rajyotsava is an event to remember people who worked and lived for Kannada. This is a great opportunity to honour those who have served the Kannada land and language. It is necessary to encourage those who work hard to save and grow Kannada,” said Zilla Panchayat chief executive officer (CEO) K Jyothi.

Speaking on the occasion, Mysuru-Kodagu Member of Parliament Pratap Simha said, “The red and yellow colour of the Kannada flag is a symbol of turmeric and vermillion. Today, we must commemorate the contribution of all the great men who have fought for the land and language and walk on the path they have laid for us. We should also remember Mysuru Wadiyars who have contributed immensely in starting Kannada Sahitya Parishat and Sahitya Sammelana,” he added.

Zilla Panchayat sub-division officer Venkataraju, deputy director of Kannada and Culture Department H Chennappa, members of various pro-Kannada organisations and others were present. (MR/KS)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles