45 newly elected members of Rajya Sabha take oath

Prime News, National, New Delhi, July 22:- Forty five newly elected members of Rajya Sabha today (July 22) took oath. Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath to them in the House chamber.

Among the Members of Parliament who  were administered the oath are BJP leaders Jyotiraditya Scindia and Deepak Prakash, Congress leaders Digvijaya Singh and Mallikarjun Kharge, M Thambidurai of AIADMK, Sharad Pawar of NCP, Union Minister Ramdas Athawale and Priyanka Chaturvedi of Shiv Sena.

This is the first time that oath-taking of members took  place in the House chamber during the inter-session period so as to maintain norms of physical distancing due to COVID-19. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB) 

Leave a Reply


Related Articles