International Sports

4th ODI: India eye biggest series win on New Zealand soil

Prime Sports, International (Hamilton), January 30:- Having secured the ongoing five-match series against New Zealand with a thumping seven-wicket win at Bay Oval, India will look to continue their dominance when they take on the hosts in the fourth ODI, a dead rubber, at Seddon Park in Hamilton on Thursday.

The Men in Blue will head into the match without their star skipper Virat Kohli, who has been rested for the remaining ODIs as part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) workload management.

In his absence, India’s regular vice-captain Rohit Sharma will lead the side in the remaining ODIs as well as subsequent T20I series against New Zealand.

The Indian opener, who holds a good record as stand-in skipper, will aim to deliver another solid performance against below-par New Zealand at Seddon Park in what will be his 200th appearance for the national side.

If India manage to take a 4-0 lead against the Kane Williamson-led side, it will be their biggest-ever series win across all formats in their 52 years of touring New Zealand.

The Black Caps, who have struggled against India in all the departments in the first three ODIs, will look to avoid some embarrassment by clinching the remaining matches of the series.

As far as Playing XI is concerned, Mahendra Singh Dhoni–who missed the third ODI due to a hamstring injury–is most likely to make a return being seen training in the nets earlier today.

Meanwhile, Mohammed Shami can be rested for the upcoming matches as he has been playing continuously since the start of the Test series against Australia. He could be replaced by Khaleel Ahmed or Mohammed Siraj.

The two squads are as follows: India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shubman Gill, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj, Ravindra Jadeja.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, and Ross Taylor. (MR, Inputs: Agencies).

Leave a Reply



Related Articles