52nd Annual Day celebration of AIISH tomorrow

Mysuru, August 08:- The All India Institute of Speech and Hearing will complete 52nd year of its journey on August 9.

The institute was established in 1965 for human resource development, research, clinical services, and public education in the field of communication disorders. On the invitation of Government of India, Dr. Martin F. Palmer, Director, Institute of Logopedics, Wichita, Kansas, USA visited India in 1963 and recommended setting-up an Institute of Logopedics in India at Mysore. On 9th August 1965, the All India Institute of Logopedics started functioning in Rama mandira (A rented building) with Dr. B.M. Rao as the first Director.  On 25th July 1966, Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, the then President of India laid the foundation stone of the Institute building. On 2nd October 1966, an M.Sc. program in Speech and Hearing, the first of its kind in the country, was initiated by the institute with affiliation to the University of Mysore.  On 10th October 1966, the institute got registered as an autonomous Institute under the Society Registration Act with the name “All India Institute of Speech and Hearing”.  What started as a small institution in 1965 has today blossomed into one of the premier establishment across South Asia in the field of communication disorders.

The 52nd Annual Day celebrations will commence at 10.30 AM on 9th August 2017 at AIISH Seminar Hall, Knowledge Park, Naimisham Campus. Prof R Venkat Rao, Vice Chancellor, National School of India University, Bengaluru and Dr R. Balasubramanium, Founder, Swami Vivekanada Youth Movement, Mysuru will be the guests for the inaugural function in the morning. Prof V Srikanth, Principal, Regional Institute of Education, Mysuru, will be the guest for the cultural program which will be held at 6.30 PM. Dr Asha Yathiraj, Professor of Audiology, AIISH will preside over the function.
On this occasion, several programs such as exchange of MOUs, release of tests, manuals, software applications, and multimedia materials are planned. Further, felicitation of Ph.D. awardees, meritorious students, retired employees will take place on this occasion.  Additionally, AIISHian of the year awards will be distributed to categories of staff.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles