63.98 per cent electorate cast their votes in 59 LS Constituencies on May 19

Around 70 per cent polling recorded in 17th Lok Sabha elections

Prime News, National, New Delhi, May 20:- Voting to elect the 17th Lok Sabha concluded successfully on Sunday. Overall around 70 per cent polling was recorded in seven phases that were held to elect the lower house of Parliament.

Briefing media in New Delhi last evening, Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha said, polling was by and large peaceful barring some incidents of violence. He said this year’s general elections were more peaceful as compared to the 2014 edition.

Singh said, people, including women and senior citizens, came out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.
With the completion of the polling, the fate of 8,049 candidates, in fray for 542 Lok Sabha seats, has been sealed.

In Gujarat, the fate of 371 candidates will be decided this time. Of these, 27 candidates are women, while one is from the third gender. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition Congress contested all 26 seats in the state but the representation of women candidates in the state is still very low.

Voting for the seventh and final phase was held on Sunday. Around 63.98 per cent electorate cast their votes in 59 constituencies, that went to polls in this phase in seven states and one Union Territory.

According to the Election Commission, highest 73.51 per cent polling was recorded in West Bengal, followed by 75.38 per cent in Madhya Pradesh, 70.40 in Himachal Pradesh and 71.16 in Jharkhand. While Punjab recorded a poll percentage of 64.71, it was 63.57 in Chandigarh, 58.01 per cent in Uttar Pradesh and lowest 53.36 per cent in Bihar.

Repolling at a booth in the Chandni Chowk Parliamentary Constituency of Delhi was also held on Sunday.

By-polls to four Assembly seats each in Tamil Nadu and West Bengal; two Assembly segments in Karnataka; and one Assembly constituency in Goa also took place.

Counting of votes for the Lok Sabha and four state Assemblies of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will be taken up on Thursday. The Meghalaya State Election Commission is also fully geared up to ensure that the counting is carried smoothly. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles