65th National Film Awards: ‘Hebbettu Ramakka’ named Best Kannada film

Best actress award to late actor Sridevi, Best actor award to 19-year-old Bengali actor Riddhi Sen

New Delhi, April 13:- Assamese language coming-of-age film ‘Village Rockstars’ was declared the best film during the 65th National Film Awards announced on Friday in New Delhi.

A ten member jury panel headed by Director Shekhar Kapur announced the 65th National Film Awards at the PIB Conference Room.

In a moving gesture, late actress Sridevi was named the best actress for her Hindi film ‘Mom’ and also late actor Vinod Khanna was honoured with Dada Saheb Phalke Award.

The major highlight in the award list was that of 19-year-old Bengali actor Riddhi Sen being named the best actor for his acting in the film ‘Nagar Kirtan.’

Similarly, award winning Malayalam director Jayaraj bagged the best director award for his Malayalam film ‘Bhayankaram.’

In the regional film category, Ladakh film was named the best regional film while critically acclaimed film ‘Newton’ bagged the Best Hindi film award.

Kannada film ‘Hebbettu Ramakka’ directed by N R Nanjunde Gowda starring Kannada actors Tara and Devaraj bagged the best Kannada film.

‘Kaccha Limbu’ named best Marathi film, ‘Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum’ best Malayalam film, ‘Mayurakshi’ best Bengali film, ‘Ishu’ best Assamese film; ‘To Let’ best Tamil film, ‘Gazi’ best Telugu film, and ‘DHH’ best Gujarati film.

Oscar winning music composer A R Rahman bagged two awards for best music direction in Tamil film ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’ and best background music score for ‘Mom.’

Best male singer was awarded to noted singer Yesudas while best female singer was awarded to Shasha Tirupati for film ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’ directed by Mani Ratnam.

Dhappa, a Marathi film was awarded the best National Integration film and the best popular film award was given to Baahubali-2.

Marathi film Murakhiya, Odia film Hello RC, Malayalam film Take Off received a special mention award and actress Parvathy too got a special mention.

The jury, headed by filmmaker Shekhar Kapur, had handed over its recommendations to Information and Broadcasting minister Smriti Irani yesterday. The jury also counted screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob and actress Gautami Tadimalla among its members. -(KK)

Leave a Reply


Related Articles