97th convocation of UoM on Dec 13; women grab lion’s share of medals

The 97th annual convocation of the University of Mysore (UoM) will be held at the Crawford Hall in the city on December 13.

Addressing a press meet at Crawford Hall on Wednesday, Vice Chancellor of UoM, Prof K S Rangappa said, “The centenary year convocation will be held on December 13, Tuesday.

“Governor of Karnataka and Chancellor of UoM Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala will preside over the function. Tibetan spiritual leader Dalai Lama will deliver the convocation address and Minister for Higher Education Basavaraja Rayareddy will grace the occasion.”

Dalai Lama  and Rajmatha Pramodevi Wadiyar will be conferred with honorary doctorate on the occasion.

Prof Rangappa said that the university has obtained special permission to conduct two convocation ceremonies in this academic year and has not violated the statues of the Act.

Lion share for women

The significant feature of the 97th convocation is that around 65 per cent of the candidates securing degrees from the UoM are women. A total of 10,798 women will be receiving degrees in a total of 16,675 candidates. About 312 medals and 180 cash prizes have been shared by 201 candidates, altogether in all five faculties and among them 139 (69%) candidates are women. Around 3,889 women (53%) will be conferred with Master’s degrees in a total of 7,388 candidates.

Medals and cash prizes

In the under-graduate category, Kavya S has topped the list and has won three medals and three cash prizes in arts. In commerce, Rashmi Prabhu G has topped the list with three medals and five cash prizes. In science and technology, Maseera Khanum has topped the list with 89.66 percent and has won two medals and two cash prizes while Gayathri G S has won four medals and six cash prizes.

In the post-graduate category, Vedavathi has topped in arts with seven medals and four cash prizes. Varsha M Kaushik has topped the list in commerce with five gold medals.

Vinod Kumar has topped in faculty of education with three gold medals and three cash prizes. Neha Saran has topped in science and technology with sixteen medals and four cash prizes.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles