AICC Prez Rahul Gandhi okays State Election Committee for poll-bound Karnataka

Political News, State, (New Delhi), February 26:-Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Sunday approved a 43-member State Election Committee (SEC) for poll-bound Karnataka, which will be headed by the party’s state unit chief G Parameshwara.

Besides Chief Minister Siddharamaiah, All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary in-charge of Karnataka K C Venugopal, Secretaries in-charge of the state and all Member of Parliament (MPs) would be part of the SEC, party general secretary Janardan Dwivedi said in a statement.

Senior party leaders from the state, Mallikarjun Kharge, D K Shivakumar, Dinesh Gundurao, S R Patil, Veerappa Moily, B K Hariprasad, Oscar Fernandes and Margaret Alva are also part of the committee.

The southern state, where the Congress is in power, is slated to go to polls in the next few months as the tenure of the 224-member current Assembly ends on May 28.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is working hard to oust the Congress and has declared to contest the Karnataka Assembly polls under the charge of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa.

The Janta Dal Securlar (JD) (S), another major player in the state, may be the deciding factor in case none of the two major parties get simple majority. The party has already announced a tie-up with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) for the polls.

-(NAV, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles