Local SportsSports

All India Public Sector Chess Tournament was inaugurated today

All India Public Sector Chess Tournament was inaugurated today at Hotel Sandesh the Prince, Mysore. The 5- day event is being organised by Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. on behalf of AIPS Sports Promotion Board. S Varadachari, Executive Director, Indian Oil formally inaugurated the tournament by moving a chess piece. D V Prasad, Organising Secretary, Nagendra Muralidhar, Vice-president, United Karnataka Chess Association, Rajesh Panth, Senior Manager, Indian Oil, Bangalore and Manjunath M, International Arbiter & Chief arbiter were present on the occasion.

After day one, ONGC, AAI and AI are in joint lead by winning the 1st round. Grand Masters Sasikiran & Adhiban tied their game after a long battle while Ram S Krishnan of beat IM Stany G A.

Results of Round 1:

LIC 0-1 AI
1 IM Sharma Dinesh K. beat GM Bakre Tejas
2 GM Sriram Jha Lost to IM Satyapragyan Swayangsu
3 WGM Swati Ghate Lost to IM Narayanan Srinath
4 IM Deshmukh Anup drew IM Swayams Mishra
1 Thanki Hemal Karsanji drew IM Visakh N R
2 Ram S. Krishnan beat IM Stany G.A.
3 Raj Kumar Chauhan Lost to GM Shyam Sundar M.
4 Pandit Prem Lost to IM Rajesh V A V
1 GM Sasikiran Krishnan drew GM Adhiban B.
2 GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi beat GM Kunte Abhijit
3 GM Koneru Humpy drew GM Lalith Babu M R
4 GM Sengupta Deep drew GM Ganguly Surya Shekhar

Leave a Reply



Related Articles