AB, Ranveer are the GQ Legend and Actor of the Year

Oozing with style and glamour, celebrities like Amitabh Bachchan, Ranveer Singh and Saif Ali Khan walked home with trophies at the GQ Men of the Year Awards 2016.

GQ India celebrated its eighth anniversary with the annual Men of the Year Awards in association with Chivas at the Grand Hyatt, Mumbai on Tuesday. The eighth edition of the Awards honoured the achievements of some of the most accomplished personalities for their contribution to varied disciplines like business, films, sport, fashion, art, philanthropy and much more, read a statement.

While The Breakthrough Talent Award went to “Masaan” actor Vicky Kaushal, designer duo Shantanu & Nikhil bagged the Designers Of The Year trophy.

Sportsman Of The Year went to Devendra Jhajharia (Gold medallist at 2016 Paralympics in javelin throw). “I’m proud of being an Indian and having brought two gold with world records at the Paralympics,” he said.

Director Of The Year went to “Udta Punjab” director Abhishek Chaubey at the ceremony, hosted by Cyrus Sahukar.

Tiger Shroff won The Youth Icon Award and Most Stylish honour went to Saif Ali Khan, who believes the most stylish thing about Indians is “the heritage of India”.

Radhika Apte, who won the Excellence In Acting Award, said: “Bollywood is a business and I’m a businessman.”

Also shining among the male winners, Kangana Ranaut, who was honoured with Woman Of The Year Award, said: “My hotness is so underrated.”

Rounding off a ceremonious eighth year of the awards, Che Kurrien, Editor, GQ India, said: “These awards reflect the pinnacle of male achievement, style and glamour.”

Actor Of The Year was bagged by Ranveer. “I am the Lamborghini of men because I am fast, I am sharp and if you are in Bombay, you can’t take me anywhere,” said Ranveer.

“Pink” star Amitabh was presented with The GQ Legend Award by Radhika. He told the actress: “You are a brilliant actress and I would love to work with you.”

He later said: “A woman’s body is not a commodity, it’s a dictatorship. And it’s time for the dictator to take over.”

Apart from the winners, the glittering black tie evening was also marked by the presence of eminent personalities like Rahul Khanna, Rahul Bose, Kiran Rao, Jaya Bachchan, Huma Qureshi and Diana Penty.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles