AP&T defeats SC to clinch CM’s Cup in Mysuru

Anything could happen in sport and the finals of XIX All India Lawyers Cricket Tournament for Chief Minister’s Cup 2016 between AP & Telangana High Court and Supreme Court is an apt example to establish the point. While the Supreme Court always has the last word when comes to justice, the High Court had the upper hand in the tournament that concluded on Wednesday at Srikantadatta Narsimharaja Wadiyar Stadium.

The AP & Telangana HC team effortlessly defeated Supreme Court in the finals by 57 runs as the latter struggled to fetch runs. The High Court put a target of 128 runs in 20 overs and SC fell short of the target by a huge mark. HC was dominant over its opponent with both bat and ball from the word go.

Winning the toss, SC sent HC to bat first only watch them garner runs. While the SC bowlers struggled with ball, unbeaten knocks from Suman Goud (40 from 34 balls) and Saichand (28 from 19 balls) proved to be too fatal for the SC. The partnership between the duos helped HC reach 127 for the loss of 4 wickets in 20 overs.

Let down by the bowling section, SC’s hope on the batting department could last for a while as the HC bowlers sent their batsmen to pavilion at frequent intervals. SC fell flat after making 70 runs in 15.5 overs. Krishna Unnam and Rahul Tapadia of HC took 3 wickets each.

Suman Goud was declared Man of the Final. Akshay of Delhi HC adjudged the Best Batsman of the tournament for scoring 149 runs while Amith Khokkar of SC declared the Best Bowler for taking 8 wickets.

Krishna Unnam of AP&T HC declared Man of the Series for his all-rounder performance. He scored 81 runs and bagged 8 wickets in the five-day tournament. The Fair Play award was shared by Punjab and Haryana HCs.

Other awards: Surya Prakash of SC – best fielder, Mahadevappa of Karnataka HC – best wicket-keeeper, Vinay Shetty of Karnataka HC – emerging player of the tournament.


Leave a Reply



Related Articles