Assembly Polls 2018: Mysuru records 38.47 % voter turnout till 1pm

Mysuru, May 12:- Mysuru District which has gained significant importance in Karnataka Assembly Elections-2018 for being the home turf of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah recorded a total of 38.47% voter turnout till 1 pm on Saturday.

Out of a total of 24,93,407 voters in the district which comprises a total of eleven constituencies namely Periyapattana, KR Nagar, Hunsur, HD Kote, Nanjangud, T Narasipur, Varuna, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja, Narasimharaja and Chamundeshwari Constituencies, approximately 38.47% of people have exercised their franchise.

The Chamundeshwari segment, from where Siddaramaiah is contesting opposite sitting Janata Dal (Secular) MLA G T Devegowda with around 2,95,815 voters recorded 39.30%. The Chamundeshwari Constituency which is the biggest constituency in terms of voters recorded 39.30% while Krishnaraja Constituency which is witnessing a tough fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate S A Ramadas and Congress candidate M K Somashekhar recorded 33.77%.

Meanwhile, the Narasimharaja Constituency which is considered as the most sensitive constituency by the Election Commission of India recorded a meagre 22.72% of votes which has a total of 2,62,300 voters, The Chamaraja Constituency which has 2,35,647 voters, recorded 33.50% till 1 am.

The Periyapattana Constituency recorded 46.30% with 1,80,411 voters, while Krishnarajanagar Constituency with 2,04,115 voters recorded 40.38%.

Hunsur, H D Kote, Nanjangud, Varuna and T Narasipur Constituencies recorded 36.61%, 37.23%, 51.51%, 42.49% and 39.43% respectively.


Of the total 2,860 polling stations in the district, 382 booths are identified as critical polling booths and 250 polling booths are identified as critical polling booths in Mysuru city.

As many as 16,583 polling officials were engaged at 2,860 polling stations in the district.

Many prominent politicians and religious heads of Mysuru district, Pontiff of Suttur Mutt Shivarathri Deshikendra Swamiji, Scion of the Mysuru royal family Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar, Rajamatha Pramoda Devi Wadiyar and others exercised their franchise early in the morning. MLA G T Devegowda and his family, Minister Tanveer Sait and his family members, MLA Vasu and others were among the early voters in the city.

Speaking to media persons, Yaduveer who exercised his franchise for the first time said, “This is the first time I am casting my vote as I was away in the United States pursuing my graduation during the previous elections.

The 25-year-old titular king of the erstwhile Mysuru royal family appealed the voters to cast their votes without fail as it’s their responsibility to vote.

The voting across eleven constituencies in the district will be held till 6 pm today and is likely to record more than 60% while in the previous elections the district recorded 65.83%.


Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and his son Dr Yathindra who is also the Congress candidate from the Varuna Constituency exercised their franchise at Siddaramanahundi in Varuna Constituency in Mysuru District.

Siddaramaiah and Dr Yathindra before casting their votes offered special prayers to their family God, Siddarameshwara.

Speaking to media persons, Siddaramaiah expressed confidence that he would win the elections and form a Congress government again.


To ensure peaceful polling in the district, the Mysuru Police Department beefed up security in Mysuru district.

In Mysuru city alone, a total of six platoons of Karnataka State Reserve Police (KSRP), twelve platoons of City Armed Reserve (CAR) and 20 Mounted Police personnel were on bandobust duty covering the five constituencies. Policemen from Uttarakhand were seen deployed at polling booths across the city.

Four Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs), seven Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs), 15 Police Inspectors (PIs), 10 Police Sub-Inspectors (PSIs), 102 Assistant Sub-Inspectors (ASIs), 274 Head Constables (HCs), 498 constables and 357 home guards were deployed among the 1,267 police personnel arranged for election duty on Saturday. The personnel were fully equipped to prevent any untoward incidents in the city.


Peaceful polling took place across various polling booths in the district with no untoward incidents reported in the district. Few people staged protest and stayed away from polling at Shivajinagar and BB Keri in the city, no other protest or violence was reported in the district.

The residents of Shivajinagar complained that no basic amenities were provided to the residents from the elected representatives and this made them to stay away from the polling.


Parking of vehicles in front of Polling Booths emerged as a big problem across many polling booths in the city. Voters who came in good numbers to exercise their franchise had heated arguments with the police personnel who objected the voters to not park their vehicles in front of polling booths.

In an incident reported from the Polling station number 43 (Kaniyarara Seva Samaj in Rajendra Nagara) of Narasimharaja Constituency (218) a person had to face a tough time after he was restricted by the policemen to park his vehicle near the polling booth. A police personnel on election duty raised objection when a voter went to park his two-wheeler where other vehicles were parked. However, the voter demanded the cops to vacate other vehicles that were parked from the place, but the constables gave lame reasons which led to a verbal spat between a voter and police.

The electorate and the on-lookers raised their voice in favour of the voter and urged the policemen to instruct the voters on where to park their vehicles or erect signage boards to direct the voters to park their vehicles. Such incidents were reported across various polling booths in the city. -(KK)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles