Assembly polls: BJP, Cong locked in close contest in Haryana

The BJP is leading in 41 seats, while the Congress is ahead in 29 constituencies at 11.30am

Political News, Nation, (Chandigarh), October 24:-No party seemed to be heading for a clear majority in Haryana on Thursday, with both the ruling BJP and the Congress locked in a close contest, according to the early trends available.

The BJP is leading in 41 seats, while the Congress is ahead in 29 constituencies at 11.30am.

The fledgling Jannayak Janta Party, which fought its maiden assembly polls, was also ahead in 12 seats. The Indian Natuional Lok Dal is ahead in two seats.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and his predecessor Bhupinder Singh Hooda of the Congress were among those who were leading from Karnal and Garhi Sampla-Kiloi respectively, as per early trends.

Commenting on the initial trends, Hooda exuded confidence that Congress would form the government in the state.

JJP leader Dushyant Chautala took a swipe at the Bharatiya Janata Party’s “Mission 75”, saying they would fall way short of their target of winning 75 seats.

Chautala said no party would be able to form the government on its own, while adding the JJP will hold the key to formation of the next dispensation. Interestingly JJP poll symbol is key.

“People of Haryana want change,” he told reporters.

Most of the exit polls had predicted a comfortable victory for the BJP, which came to power for the first time on its own in Haryana in 2014.

Haryana Minister Anil Vij, a five-time legislator from Ambala Cantt, was said to be leading from his constituency in early trends, while Finance Minister Capt Abhimanyu was trailing in his Narnaund constituency to the JJP’s Ram Kumar Gautam.

Congress candidate and former BCCI chief Ranbir Singh Mahendra was trailing from Badhra constituency, where the JJP’s Naina Chautala is ahead.

Former Indian hockey captain Sandeep Singh of the BJP was ahead from Pehowa constituency, as per early trends.

Another sportsperson fielded by the BJP, wrestler Babita Phogat, was ahead in Dadri constituency.

Raj Kumar Saini, chief of Loktanter Suraksha Party, was ahead in Gohana segment.

-(NAV, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles