‘Basava Ratna’ award presented to five achievers

Mysuru Sharana Mandali presented ‘Basava Ratna’ award to five eminent personalities during its Basava Jayanti and Dr Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Swamiji birth centenary celebrations held at Dr Rajendra Bhavan on Sunday.

The five eminent personalities are Dr M.R. Ravi, General Manager, Karnataka State Tourism Development Corporation, Bengaluru, who earlier served as Additional Regional Commissioner, K Raghuram, a cultural patron, H S Chandramouli, a senior advocate of High Court, M Mahadevaswamy, Superintendent Engineer at Karnataka Rural Infrastructure Development Limited (KRIDL) and C K Ramegowda, a Kannada activist.

Speaking at the programme, Legislative Council Deputy Speaker Marthibbegowda said that Basava Jayanthi celebrations were an opportunity to recall the contribution of Basavanna, the 12th century reformer and this would be meaningful only when we adopt the principles of Basavanna.

Mysore Sharana Mandali has been organising various programmes and this promises to be unique as eminent personalities even from the government departments are recognised for their service to humanity. All the five personalities deserve the award for their yeomen services to society, he said.

Marthibbegowda highlighted the contribution of Dr Shivarathri Rajendra Swamiji in providing education and mass food to poor, which even the government institutions have failed to meet. Giving an example, he said that Swamiji was the first to make an attempt to come up with education institutions even in the deep hills of Mahadeshwara.

Sri Siddalingashivacharya Swamiji of Suryasimhasana Manasamsthana, Vatal graced the occasion. Former MLC Prof K R Mallikarjuna, Additional Commissioner Commercial Tax department Helavarahundi Siddappa, President Mysuru Sharana Mandali Muguru Nanjundaswamy, former District Ka Sa Pa president M Chandrashekar and others were present.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles