BJP announces candidates for Belagavi, Maski, Basavakalyan by-polls

Political News, Karnataka, Elections, Bengaluru, March 26:-The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), on Thursday (March 25), announced names of its candidates for two Legislative Assembly seats and a Lok Sabha Constituency. It has finalised the name of Mangala Suresh Angadi, wife of the late Suresh Angadi, for Belagavi Lok Sabha Constituency. Pratap Gowda Patil will be the candidate for Maski while Sharanu Salagar is the candidate for  Basavakalyan Constituency.

There were widespread discussions in the BJP about the Belagavi candidate. Finally, the name of Mangala was finalised because of the need to give an opportunity to a family member of the late Union minister and also based on the feeling that sympathy factor might work in her favour.

Pratap Gowda Patil                                           Sharanu Salagar

In Maski where the name of BJP state vice president B Y Vijayendra, was widely in circulation, the party has surprisingly chosen Sharanu from Lingayat community who was a district level office-bearer of the party. It is felt that votes of the Lingayat community are decisive in this constituency.

The Congress has already issued B form to Satish Jarkiholi in Belagavi Lok Sabha Constituency. He will file his nomination on May 29. (NAV, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles