BSP aiming to strengthen base in state

With an eye on Karnataka assembly elections slated to be held in 2018, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati will tour the state to strengthen the state, said party Rajya Sabha member Dr Ashok Siddarth here on Friday. He was speaking at the regional level BSP conference  well attended by office bearers and supporters from Mysuru, Mandya, Hassan, Kodagu and Dakshina Kannada.Addressing gathering, the Siddarth pointed out that while the Congress government in the state failed to fulfill the constitutional privileges for Dalits, it is essential to bring BSP to power in the state to ensure policies of Dr B R Ambedkar and Nalwadi Krishnaraja Wadiyar who fought for the upliftment of the oppressed class of the society.  

He alleged that during the campaign in the last assembly election,  the Congress had promised to make a Dalit leader as chief minister of Karnataka, but went back on the promise soon after coming to power.   “The Congress has totally sidelined some of the prominent Dalit leaders. The ruling party should be shown the door so that other parties get a chance to serve the Dalits.” He also informed that Mayawati would attend series of rallies in Bengaluru, Mysuru and many other districts in the coming days.He urged the party bearers to work hard to unite people at district level so that it helps the party to bring Dalit leaders to the mainstream of the society.

Speaking on the occasion, BSP national executive committee member Marasandra Muniyappa said that the Dalits voted Congress to power expecting a Dalit chief minister. But the Congress failed miserably. Prominent leaders like G Parameshwar and V Srinivas Prasad did not get what they deserved.” BSP state president N Mahesh, Vice President Kamal Nabhan, State secretary Nahida Salma, General secretaries including Siddaiah Mandya, M Krishnamurthy, Velayudhan, Panchakshari, G K Basavaraju, state executive committee member Gangadhar Bahujana, Kumar Gowrav, Shivamma, Mysuru district coordinator Shivamahadeva, Mandya district coordinator Nallahalli Suresh, B K Raju, Dakshina Kannada Coordinator Narayana Bhoudh and others were present.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles