CEC Sunil Arora denies rift over code violation

Prime News, National, New Delhi, May 18:- Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on Saturday responded to EC Ashok Lavasa’s purported letter to him over clean chits to Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Sunil Arora Saturday described as “unsavory” and “avoidable” reports that fellow commissioner Ashok Lavasa has decided to recuse himself from meetings related to model code violations till he is not allowed to record his dissent.

In a statement, Sunil Arora said that diversion of views was not new among the members of the Election Commission and that they not expected to be clones of each other.

“The three members of EC are not expected to be template or clones of each other. There have been so many times in the past when there has been a vast diversion of views as it can, and should be,” Sunil Arora said.

Sunil Arora also said that such differences in views largely remained within confines of ECI after demission of office.

He also said in the last meeting of the commission on May 14, it was “unanimously” decided to form groups to deliberate issues which arose in the course of conduct of Lok Sabha elections.

“Out of the 13 issues/areas which were identified, model code of conduct is one of them,” Sunil Arora said in a statement. He also said, “I personally never shied away from a public debate whenever required but there is time for everything.”

It comes after Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa expressed dissent over clean chits for four speeches made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and one by BJP president Amit Shah.

Ashok Lavasa told Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora that his “participation in the deliberations of the Commission becomes meaningless” since his minority decisions “go unrecorded.”

Lavasa had dissented in some of the 11 decisions the EC took on complaints against Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah for alleged model code violations. The two were given a clean chit in all the decisions.

Ashok Lavasa told Sunil Arora he will attend meetings if his minority decisions are included in the commission’s orders, according to media reports. The Election Commission’s three members are Sunil Arora, Ashok Lavasa, and Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles