Centenary celebrations of UoM will culminate on July 22

The year-long centenary celebrations of the University of Mysore (UoM) will culminate on July 22 with Vice President Hamid Ansari set to deliver the valedictory address at the Ampitheatre at the varsity premises. A six-day centenary valedictory fete will be the part of the event.

The varsity was abuzz with numbers activities since the centenary celebrations were inaugurated by the President Pranab Mukherjee on July 27 last year. The year saw many events such as prestigious Indian Science Congress, lecture series from Nobel Laureates, Inter-university national youth festival and national-level inter-university wrestling championship.

Governor Vajubhai Rudrabhai Vala, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, former Prime Minister H D Devegowda,  PWD and District In-charge Minister H C Mahadevappa, Minister for Higher Education Basavaraja Rayareddy and Chairman, University Grants Commission, Ved Prakash are expected to share the stage.

On the occasion, a life-size statue of former ruler of erstwhile Mysore Nalwadi Krishnaraja Wadiyar, which according to UoM Vice Chancellor Prof K S Rangappa was a long-felt need of Mysureans and students of UoM, will be unveil ed by Ansari at Crawford Hall premises. The statue which has already been installed is being given final touches and a mantap surrounding the statue is yet to be made.Speaking to reporters on Monday, Prof Rangappa said that the statue was made of bronze and weighs 600 kg.

“The eight-feet statue was made by a Hyderabad-based artiste at a cost of Rs 6.5 lakh. The pedestal on which the statue is installed is also eight feet,” Prof Rangappa said.Bharat Ratna UoM Centenary AwardThe UoM has instituted three Bharat Ratna UoM Centenary Awards in the names of Sir M Visvesvaraya, Dr S Radhakrishnan and Prof C N R Rao. The awards, Prof Rangappa said would be given every three years to people excelling in the fields of technology, science and social science.

UoM Vice Chancellor Prof K S Rangappa addresses media person in city on Monday


“As UoM has produces these three Bharat Ratnas, we have decided to name the awards after them. This year, the committee has chosen Chairman, ISRO, Prof A S Kiran Kumar (Innovation in technology field) for Bharat Ratna Sir M Visvesvaraya UoM Centenary Award; Former Governor of West Bengal Gopalakrishna Gandhi (Social Science field) for Bharat Ratna  Dr S Radhakrishnan UoM Centenary Award and Honorary Director, Centre for Human Genetics, Prof H G Sharat Chandra (Science field) for Bharat Ratna Prof C N R Rao UoM Centenary Award,” he said, adding, “The award carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a citation and a gold medal.”

Centenary scholarship

The varsity has decided to extend centenary scholarship to meritorious students from this year. Prof Rangappa said that about 100 students will be awarded scholarship every year.

Inauguration of two buildings

Prof Rangappa said that Ansari will inaugurate two new buildings, one in the School of Planning and Architecture and the other one is the Maulya Bhavan (Evaluation Bhavan) next to the Fine Arts College on Bogadi Road.The entry to the valedictory is free. However, it is restricted to pass holders which will be issued for free at the Office of Centenary Celebrations from tomorrow.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles