Chamaraja constituency posts: Dissidence hits city BJP

Dissidence in the city BJP unit over the organisation committee selection came out in the open on Monday as heated arguments ensued between party workers and leaders at the BJP Office at Ittigegudu. Party workers expressed their disappointment over the selection of office bearers of Chamaraja Assembly Constituency.

The party has selected Sriram as the president of BJP Chamaraja Assembly Constituency and has appointed Lokesh and Lingaraju as General Secretaries.

According to party workers, on June 30, the core committee of the party met in the city to elect office bearers of the constituency. The meeting was held under the leadership of City BJP president Dr Manjunath and leaders including Member of Parliament Pratap Simha, General Secretaries H V Rajeev, Nandeesh Preetham, former ministers S A Ramadas, former MP CH Vijayashankar, former MLC Thontadarya, Siddaraju, M V Ravishankar and BP Manjunath.

The meeting discussed that there were 18 aspirants for the post of Chamaraja Assembly Constituency president and three names were selected taking into consideration the work done by them to the party. Accordingly Bo Umesh, S Vaneesh Kumar and Ramachandra were selected as final aspirants to be sent to the state core committee.

Party workers said that whole announcing the final names of the office bearers, the names proposed by the core committee were ignored and people who have indulged in anti-party activities have been selected.

They alleged that Sriram had indulged in many anti-party activities and had campaigned against the party candidate in the 2013 Mysuru City Corporation elections where Sriram’s wife was denied a party ticket. He was the prime reason for official BJP candidate Radha losing the elections to JD(S) candidate by 52 votes, they alleged.

In the last assembly elections too, Sriram had campaigned in favour of Congress candidate Vasu and was the reason behind the defeat of BJP candidate L Nagendra. “Though this was brought to the notice of the then BJP State President Prahallad Joshi Sriram has been appointed this time. He also campaigned against BJP candidate M V Ravishankar in the recently held MLC election for the South Graduates Constituency,” alleged K Somashekar Raju.

Not only Sriram, Lokesh and Lingaraju who have been appointed as General Secretaries too have indulged in anti-party activities, he alleged. The party workers have appealed to the state leaders to appoint honest workers as office-bearers so that the party could win the next elections.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles