Curfew continues only in 3 south Kashmir districts

Authorities on Thursday continued curfew only in three south Kashmir districts of Anantnag, Kulgam and Pulwama.

“Curfew will continue today (Thursday) in Anantnag, Kulgam and Pulwama districts. Restrictions have been imposed in Shopian, Kupwara and Sopore towns,” a senior police official said.

“Prohibitory orders under section 144 continue to remain in force in Srinagar city,” he added.

Curfew had to be re-imposed in Srinagar on Wednesday after senior separatist leaders, Syed Ali Geelani and Mirwaiz Umer Farooq defied house arrest and took to the streets.

They were both arrested and placed under house arrest.

Separatists had called for a march in Kulgam district which was foiled by the authorities.

A total of 50 people including 48 civilians and two policemen have been killed in widespread violence in the Valley that started on July 9, a day after Hizbul commander, Burhan Wani was killed.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles