Local SportsMysoreSports

Deia Urs wins gold at karate fest

The 5th Karnataka Karate Fest 2016 Championship was held at the National Public School Auditorium, Banashankari, Bengaluru on November 13, which was organized by Temple of Martial Arts (R) Okinawan Shotakan Karate Do headed by Renshi A. P. Nagendra Babu.  The championship was inaugurated by Shihan Althaf Alam, KAI Referee Commission General Secretary, Shihan C. S. Arun Machaiah, Vice President, Karate Association of India & President, Akhila Karnataka Sports Karate Association and Shihan Althaf Pasha, General Secretary, AKSKA.

More than 500 karatekas from all over the state had participated in this karate kata and kumite championship which was divided into 26 different age and weight categories.  The Championship was conducted according the World Karate Federation Rules and Regulations.


City’s kickboxing and karate kid Deia S. Urs, who is studying 10th standard at the Vidyavardha BM Sri Educational Institution, Kuvempunagar participated in this championship and won gold medal in the below 18 years girls individual Kata category.  Rachana T. S. of Bengaluru won the silver and the bronze medals were won by Davanagere girls Chaitra N and Megha.

Deia, who has 2nd degree black belt in Karate, is trained by Sensei E. S. Kumar of Shuko Kai Shito Ryu Karate Do.  She is also trained by Shihan C. S. Arun Machaiah, President of All India Shito Ryu Karate Federation, Vice President of  Karate Association of India and President of Akhila Karnataka Sports Karate Association.

Deia, who recently won gold in the Kickboxing K-1 category at the World Cup Diamond Championship held in Russia, is trained personally both in karate and kickboxing by her father Srinath Urs B  S.

The Akhila Karnataka Sports Karate Association is affiliated to Karate Association of India, which is recognised by Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs, Govt. of India.  Karate Association of India is the member of Asian Karate Federation and World Karate Federation, both of which are recognized by International Olympic Committee and International World Games Association.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles