District Level Table Tennis and Chess Tournament at SSR PU College

Mysuru, September 12:- District Level Table Tennis and Chess tournaments were organized by Sadvidya Semi-Residential PU College in association with PU Education Department on 11th September 2017.

Nearly 160 students from 30 colleges across Mysore district participated in these competitions.

Earlier in the day, the tournament was declared open by the chief guest Shyamala V R., In-charge Deputy Director, Pre-University Education Department. While addressing the participants, she said that chess is a mental game and table tennis is a physical game. All students should actively participate in both the games.

R Vijayshekhar, President, Kaveri Charitable Trust, also said that students apart from academics should also give equal importance to sports. The other dignitaries present at the ceremony were M D Gopinath, Secretary, KCT, Prof K S Hiriyanna, member KCT and in-charge of Sadvidya Semi-Residential PU College, Management Member Prof M S K Narahari Babu and Dr M T Govinde Gowda, Principal, SSR PU College.

At the valedictory function, M D Gopinath, Prof K S Hiriyanna, and Dr M T Govinde Gowda felicitated the players with certificates and shields for their performances. The dignitaries also gave away the championship trophies and certificates to all the winners.

The Overall Champions

The boys and girls of Sadvidya Composite College won the overall Championship Trophies in Chess Tournament 2017. The boys from Sadvidya Semi-Residential PU College and the girls from Junior Maharani PU College were the winners of District Level Table Tennis Competition.

Final List of District Level Chess Winners


  1. Pavan C. from Sadvidya Composite PU College – First place
  2. Sagar R. from Vijaya Vittala College – Second place
  3. Sujan H.T. from Pushkarni PU College – Third place
  4. Venkatesh Babu from Government PU College, Nanjungud – Fourth place
  5. Yuvashankar B. from BASE PU College, Mysore – Fifth place


  1. Tulsi M from Marimallappa PU College- First place
  2. Vidya K from SDM College – Second place
  3. Amoolya Leon Noronha from Sadvidya Composite PU College – Third place
  4. Sahana from Teresian College– Fourth place
  5. Sushmitha C P from Sadvidya Composite PU College – Fifth place

Final List of District Level Table Tennis Winners


 Sadvidya Semi-Residential PU College – Winners

  • Varun M
  • Niranjan Ghatage
  • Rohan M
  • Amith Choudhari
  • Adithya T M

Vijaya Vittala PU College – Runners Up

  • Rohith R. Kuthnikar.
  • Samanth N
  • Skanda S
  • Sagar Ravi
  • Janeesh


 Maharani PU College – Winners

  • Kalavathi D
  • Nandini D
  • Harshitha p
  • Inchara M K
  • Taniya Shariff

Teresian College – Runners Up

  • Anjali S.
  • Navya B R
  • Spandana B S
  • Sahana Heulin
  • Gayathri S.

Leave a Reply


Related Articles