EC announces poll dates for 5 states

The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the dates and phases of elections for 5 states – Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur, and Goa.

Uttar Pradesh will have elections in seven phases whereas Manipur in two and Uttarakhand, Punjab and Goa in single phase; counting in all 5 states on March 11.

On Wednesday Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi made the announcements of the dates and phases of election for five states.

For Goa and Punjab that has 40 and 117 constituencies respectively, the notification will be given on January 11and the last date for last date of nominations is Jan 18 and the elections will be held on February 04 in single phase.  For Uttarakhand the elections will be held on February 15 in single phase and for Manipur the election will be held on March 04 (1st Phase) and March 08, 2017 (2nd Phase). For Uttar Pradesh, the elections will be held on February 11for first phase and on February 15 for second phase.


Leave a Reply



Related Articles