Ekalavya awards presented

Recognising the honour brought by sportspersons who brought fame to Karna­taka at both the national and international levels, the state’s prestigious sports honour Ekalavya Award 2014 was conferred upon 15 achievers in various sports, by the De­partment of Youth Empow­erment and Sports at Senate Hall here on Tuesday.

Besides, four achievers were conferred upon with life­time achievement award and ten sportspersons were feted with Karnataka Kreeda Ratna Award.

Chief Minister Siddara­maiah presented the awards to Aravind M for swimming, Akash Aaradya for roller skat­ing, Dr S Vakaria for athletics, Sannuvanda Kushalappa Ut­thappa for hockey, Malapra­bha Y Jadav for judo, Twisha K for kayaking and kenoying, Purushotham K for rifle shoot­ing, Vineeth Manual for bad­minton, Sushmitha Pavar 0 for kabaddi, Sharmada Balu for lawn tennis, Archana Girish Kamat for table tennis, Nisha Joseph for volleyball, Lokesh N for gymnastic, Lakshman C Kurani for cycling, and Niran­jan M for para swimming.

Other achievers who have dedicated their lives to a spe­cific sport were honoured with lifetime achievement award:

Dr Prabhakar I Devangavi for hockey, H Chandrasekhar for football, Sridhar Kumar for kabaddi and I Amaldas for boxing. Whereas Karnataka Kree­da Ratna Awards were be­stowed upon on Kavya M R for ball badminton, Vinod Rathod for aatya paatya, Dundappa Dasannanavar for mallakamba, Roopashri B K for kabaddi, Karthik G Kaa­ti for jangi kusthi, Yogesh for kho-kho, Anil Kumar H Shet­tar for yoga, Nakre Jayakara Madivala for kambala, Ko­lachchuru Ondottu Sukumara Shetty for kambala and Ibra­him Sab M Urab for weight lifting.

Besides Rs 148 lakh subsidy was awarded to 41 sportspersons.

Youth Empowerment and Sports Minister K Abhay­achandra, delivered felicita­tion address, Minister for Rev­enue and District In-charge Minister V Srinivas Prasad released the booklet Sadhana Aanchike.

MLA Vasu, PWD Minister H C Mahadevappa, Mayor B L Bhyrappa, Deputy Com­missioner C Shikha, Regional Commisioner A M Kunjap­pa, MLA M K Somashekar, MUDA President K R Mohan Kumar, Principal Secretary for Department of Youth Em­powerment and Sports Kapil

Mohan, Police Commission­er B Dayananda, SP Abhinav Khare, MLC Govinda Raj, and others were present. Former police commissioner and re­tired Director of Department of Youth Empowerment and Sports Dr Anandan was hon­oured for his noteworthy ser­vice and encouragement for sportspersons.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles

Check Also