Electorate give hung verdict in Mysuru City Corporation polls

Congress and JD(S) likely to form an alliance to keep BJP out of power

Mysuru, September 3:- As expected, no single party has succeeded in getting a clear majority on its own in the Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) elections results announced on Monday.

The counting of votes to elect corporators for 65 Wards of MCC began at 8 am today at Maharani Commerce and Management College for Women on Valmiki Road in the city.

The strong room where the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were kept was opened in presence of officers, while 13 Returning Officers were in-charge of the counting process. 65 tables were placed for counting and three people were assigned for each table.

A moderate voting percentage of 50.01% was recorded in the MCC elections held on August 31, and political pundits in the city had predicted a fractured verdict.

Expectedly, no single party has emerged triumphant with a majority to form the council and the electorate has given a hung verdict. The BJP has won in 22 wards, Congress in 19 wards, Janata Dal (Secular) in 18 wards, the BSP in one ward. Five independent candidates have won in their respective wards.

In the previous six elections held to form the council in MCC, no party had  secured a clear majority and the trend continued this time too. With no party getting majority on its own, the Congress and JD(S) are likely to stitch a post-poll alliance to keep the BJP out of power and form the council.

In the previous polls, the Congress had won in 22 wards, but this time, the party lost three wards. Though Congress has performed well in the wards coming under Narasimharaja Constituency which has maximum number of Muslim and backward class votes, the performance of its candidates was not up to the mark in the wards coming under the Chamaraja and Krishnaraja Constituencies, thus losing three seats.

While JD(S) which had managed to win in 20 wards in the previous elections has lost two seats, the BJP, which had 12 seats last time, has gained 10 seats more. The BSP candidate from Krishnamurthypuram won and five independent candidates registered victories.

Posting a video on his official Facebook profile, BJP city president Dr B H Manjunath said, “The voters of Mysuru have extended their support to our party which has helped us reach 22 seats. In 1996, we had won 21 seats in MCC polls which were the highest but now we have performed better than that. We lost in 8 to 10 wards with a minimum margin of votes. We had an alliance with JD(S) in the previous Council for the last five years; if JD(S) is ready to continue their alliance with us, we will form a coalition council or else we will sit in the Opposition and strive hard for the welfare of people of Mysuru.”

Former mayors, dy mayor, party leaders lose

Former mayors B Bhagyavathi, Purushotham who were ousted from the Congress for anti-party activities have lost.

Purushotham lost against Sridhar C of Congress in MCC Ward 38 in Giribhovipalya. Similarly, deputy mayor in the previous council, Indira Mahesh lost to Usha in Ward 30.

Many JD(S) leaders, including its city president K T Cheluve Gowda, K V Mallesh, former corporators Raveendra, Snake Shyam, Suhail Baig and several other candidates, have been rejected by the voters.

Mysuru City Police had enforced traffic ban around Maharani Commerce and Management College for Women from 6 am in the morning and security was beefed up near the counting centre.

Meanwhile, following the declaration of MCC poll results, a clash erupted between two groups at Kesare in the city. Miscreants barged into the house of independent candidate Samiulla (Ajju), who won from the Kesare Ward,  and attacked him. It is alleged that one ‘Babu’ alias ‘Beef Babu’ attacked Ajju and his family members after the poll results were announced. The miscreants also damaged a car parked in front of the house. –Karthik KK

Leave a Reply



Related Articles

Check Also