Fee exemption for physically challenged students at UoM

In an attempt to reduce the burden on physically challenged students, University of Mysore has decided to give fee exemption to those pursuing PhD at the university.

The decision was taken at the second ordinary academy council meeting of  the UoM held in the city on Tuesday. Vice Chancellor Prof K S Rangappa, following the decision of members of the academic council, decided to offer fee exemption to all the physically challenged students. Later, discussing various other matters in the meeting, the council also agreed to introduce massive open online courses (MOOCs) through MHRD’s Swayam platform in geography and sericulture.

The academic council agreed to introduce five new gold medals, a cash prize and an endowment lecture in the name of Mysore University computer science alumni association (MNICSAA), Prabhavathi Shankar Singh gold medal and endowment, Tumpudi RaghavendraBhagavath gold medal and endowment, Rattehalli Vasudevamurthy  gold medal, Rattehalli Saraswathi gold medal, Late N Srikantha memorial cash award and Prof D S Achuta Rao memorial national seminar in the history  subject from this academic year.

Centenary coins:

Earlier, addressing a press conference, Prof Rangappa said that the university is all set to release the much-awaited centenary celebration commemorative coins of Rs 5 and Rs 100 on December 3. Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Urban Development Venkaiah Naidu will release these commemorative coins at Crawford Hall on that day. The executive kit containing Rs 5 and Rs 100 denomination coins will be brought to the university in a few days time and this would be given to dignitaries at the event. Those who want to buy these coins can get them directly from the government mints.

“The design and logo minted on the coins are based on motto of the university and the Department of Finance has agreed to it,” said Prof Rangappa.

New UGC-HRDC building:

The newly constructed UGC-Human Resource development centre at the Manasagangotri campus will be inaugurated by Chairman of University Grant Commission (UGC), Prof Ved Prakash on December 1. On the same day, Prof Ved Prakash will be inaugurating the college principals’ meet on quality enhancement in higher education: issues and concerns, which will be held at Crawford Hall. A book titled ‘Language politics and policies in India during 20th century’ authored by Prof Midatala Rani will be released on the occasion.

University of Mysore Registrar R Rajanna, members Lingaraj Gandhi, YashwanthDongre, Rudraiah, Krishnaiah and others were present.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles