Govt announces final reservation matrix of all 65 MCC Wards

New reservation matrix is unfair, says BJP MLA L Nagendra

Mysuru, July 21:- As the present term of the Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) Council members is coming to an end in September this year, the state government announced the final reservation matrix of all the 65 wards in the city.

The new final reservation matrix was announced by the Urban Development Department published in the Karnataka Rajyapatra after going through objections filed by general public and political leaders over the draft reservation matrix.

Last month, a draft reservation matrix was announced where a total of 17 wards were reserved for General category, 16 wards for General (women) category, 9 wards for Backward Classes (A), 2 wards for Backward Classes (B), 8 wards for Backward Classes (A) women, 2 wards for Backward Classes (B) women, 4 wards for Scheduled Caste, 2 wards for Scheduled Tribes, 4 wards for Scheduled Caste (women) and 1 ward for Scheduled Tribe (women). The draft reservation matrix was announced based on the 2011 population census, the reservation matrix of all 65 MCC Wards coming under MCC and the department has given a 7-day deadline for the general public to file objections from the day of issue of notification (June 19).

When the draft reservation matrix were reserved many council members and former mayors including R Lingappa, B L Bhyrappa, Sandesh Swamy and others had objected the draft matrix and filed objections with the department and called it unscientific. The department which went through the objection have now announced the new reservation matrix of all 65 wards and many changes have been made in the final list.


Speaking to media persons in the city on Saturday, Chamaraja Constituency MLA L Nagendra expressed displeasure over the final reservation matrix and alleged that the state government even after the objections were filed has not announced a fair reservation matrix and has ‘misused’ the power by reserving it unscientifically. In most of the constituencies where the ward has more SC population, has been reserved for Backward Classes (A) and vice-versa,” he said.

With the announcement of the final reservation matrix, the ward-wise political activities is expected to gain momentum in the coming days.

Final reservation matrix of 65 wards of Mysuru City Corporation

Ward No Area


1 Hebbal, Lakshmikanthanagar Backward Classes (B)-Women
2 Manchegowdana Koppalu General Women


3 Mahadeshwara Layout General


4 Hebbal, Lokanayakanagar General


5 Kumbarakoppalu Backward Classes (A) Women


6 Gokulam General


7 Metagalli Scheduled Caste


8 Bannimantap Hudco Layout General


9 Kesare Backward Classes (A)


10 Rajiv Nagar General


11 Shanthinagar (Mahadevapura Road) Backward Classes (B) Women


12 Shanthinagar (Indira Gandhi Road) General
13 Udayagiri Backward Classes (A)


14 Satyanagar Backward Classes (A)


15 Rajendranagar Scheduled Caste


16 Subhash Nagar Backward classes (A)


17 Bannimantap General Women


18 Yadavagiri Scheduled Tribe


19 Jayalakshmipuram General Women


20 Vijaynagar General


21 Gangotri layout Scheduled Caste Women


22 Paduvarahalli Backward Classes (A)Women


23 Subbarayanakere General Women


24 Mandi Mohalla General


25 Tilak Nagar General


26 Meena Bazar General Women


27 Veeranagare Backward Classes (A)


28 Gandhinagar General Women


29 N R Mohalla Backward Classes (A)


30 Kyatamaranahalli General Women


31 K N Pura, Ghousia Nagar Backward Classes (A
32 Ghousia Nagar A block, Usmania Nagar General Women
33 Aziz Sait Nagar General


34 Kalyanagiri General Women


35 Sathagalli General


36 Yaraganahalli, Ambedkar Colony Backward Classes (B) Women


37 Raghavendra Nagar General Women


38 Giribovi Palya Scheduled Caste


39 Gayathripuram 1st stage Scheduled Caste


40 Lashkar Mohalla Backward Classes (A)


41 Devaraja Mohalla Backward Classes (B)


42 K G Koppal General


43 T K Layout General


44 Janatanagar General Women


45 Sharadaevi Nagar Backward Classes (A) Women


46 Dattagalli General Women


47 Kuvempunagar Backward Classes (A)


48 Jayanagar Scheduled Tribe (Women)


49 Lakshmipuram Backward Classes (A) Women


50 Sunnadakeri Scheduled Tribe


51 Agrahara General


52 Ittigegudu Backward Classes (A) Women
53 Kurubarahalli Backward Classes (A) women
54 Gundurao Nagar General Women


55 Chamundi Puram General


56 Krishnamurthypuram Backward Classes (A) women
57 Kuvempunagar CITB General


58 Ramakrishnanagar General


59 Kuvempunagar M Block General Women


60 Ashokapuram General Women


61 Vidyaranyapuram General Women


62 Vishweshwaranagara Scheduled Caste Women
63 J P Nagar Scheduled Caste Women
64 Aravindanagar Backward Classes (A) Women
65 Srirampura Backward Classes (A) Women




Leave a Reply


Related Articles