Guru Manthan serves as platform to explore innovative teaching practices

Mysuru, August 29: We, as teachers, tend to forget that like our students we need to constantly learn too. While teachers have developed their own novel and effective teaching practices within a classroom, a platform that enables them to collaborate, exchange and assess teaching practices outside their school premises is needed.
To furnish this need, ‘Guru Manthan,’ a state-level contest for pre-service and in-service teachers was conducted by Swami Vivekananda Youth Movement (SVYM) at Mysuru campus on August 23 and 24.

The two-day event received 317 entries and saw participation from 62 short-listed teachers from all over Karnataka. Teachers contested in categories like ‘Class – Before, During and After’ which included demo classes, ‘Stall in a Mall’ and on-spot events.

Teachers were invited to send their lesson plans in advance, 24 were short-listed and presented their lesson plan in a demo class in the presence of a jury panel and a mixed group of students from government and private schools. To encourage innovation, teachers were given the freedom to choose their teaching technique and medium.

Noted educationists like Dr Meera Krishnappa, Prof Rajagopal, Dr Suresh Kulkarni, H L Satheesh, Dr Yashavanth, VSS Sastry, Prof Giridhar, B V Kulkarni, Mathew K G, Vinay Nadgir, Melli A, Bhagyalakshmi and Praveen Kumar S were part of the jury. The jury interacted with all the teachers and provided valuable one-on-one inputs to each participant.

‘Stall in a Mall’ event with 18 stalls by teachers exhibited unique events and games which were meant to attract teachers, students and other passersby. These events in languages, social sciences, Maths and Science were intended to nurture scientific temperament among people. Various on-spot events like a treasure hunt, fold-scope encouraged teachers to find innovative approaches to teaching.

According to the organisers of the event, every participating teacher in ‘Guru Manthan’ was a winner for being receptive to the idea of constantly learning and evolving their teaching techniques.

Sudha Parmeswaran of National Hill View Public School, Shobha of Kautilya Vidyalaya and Sathisha MS of Government High School, Hullahalli were awarded for exemplary performance.  Prathima and Gowri Ramesh T R of Excel Public School and  Harsha S of Government High School, Hedathale were awarded for consistent performance on both the days.

Kiran Kumar B of Adarsha Vidyalaya, Debur, Nanjangud and Harsha S of Government High School, Hedathale were winners of ‘Stall in a Mall’ event.  (MR)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles