HeadlinesHockeyInternational SportsNational Sports

Hockey World Cup 2018 kickstarts today at Bhubaneswar

Prime News, International and National, Hockey, Bhubaneswar (Odisha), November 27:- The 14th edition of the Hockey World Cup is all set to take place from November 28 to December 16 at the Kalinga Stadium here.

In Bhubaneswar, the inauguration will also feature ballet titled “The Earth Song.” The theme of “The Earth Song” is “oneness of humanity.”

Bollywood heart-throb Madhuri Dixit will feature as the central character in the “Earth Song.” The 45-minute show will unfold over five acts and has choreographer Shiamak Davar blending the east with the west.

Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan will be present at the opening ceremony and music maestro A R Rahman will perform live. The official anthem for the world cup — “ Jai Hind” — will be sung at the inaugural events. While Gulzar has penned the song, Rahman has set it to music.

Another Bollywood superstar Salman Khan will participate in the second phase of the inaugural function to be held in Cuttack on November 28.

Hosts India is placed in Group C alongside Belgium, Canada and South Africa and begin their campaign against the latter on the first day of the tournament.

Manpreet Singh will lead the Indian side in the tournament, while Chinglensana Singh will be his deputy.

Here is the schedule and all the 16 squads for the tournament:

November 28, 2018: 17 pm Belgium vs Canada (Pool C) and 19 pm India vs South Africa (Pool C).

November 29, 2018: 17 pm Argentina vs Spain (Pool A) and 19 pm New Zealand vs France (Pool A).

November 30, 2018: 17 pm Australia vs Ireland (Pool B) and 19 pm England vs China (Pool B).

December 1, 2018: 17 pm Netherlands vs Malaysia (Pool D) and 19 pm Germany vs Pakistan (Pool D).

December 2, 2018: 17 pm Canada vs South Africa (Pool B) and
19 pm India vs Belgium (Pool B).

December 3, 2018: 17 pm Spain vs France (Pool A) and 19 pm New Zealand vs Argentina (Pool A).

December 4, 2018: 17 pm England vs Australia (Pool C) and
19 pm Ireland vs China (Pool C).

December 5, 2018: 17 pm Germany vs Netherlands (Pool D) and 19 pm Malaysia vs Pakistan (Pool D).

December 6, 2018: 17 pm Spain vs New Zealand (Pool A) and
19 pm Argentina vs France (Pool A).

December 7, 2018: 17 pm Australia vs China (Pool B) and
19 pm Ireland vs England (Pool B).

December 8, 2018:  17 pm Belgium vs South Africa (Pool C) and
19 pm Canada vs India (Pool C).

December 9, 2018: 17 pm Malaysia vs Germany (Pool D) and
19 pm Netherlands vs Pakistan (Pool D).

Cross-Over – December 10, 2018: 16:45 pm 2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool B (25) and 19 pm 2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool A (26).

December 11, 2018:  16:45 pm 2nd Pool C vs 3rd Pool B (27) and 19 pm 2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool A (28).

Quarter-finals – December 12, 2018: 16:45 pm 1st Pool A vs Winner 26 (29) and 19 pm 1st Pool B VS Winner 25 (30).

December 13, 2018: 16:45 pm 1st Pool C VS Winner 28 (31) and
19 pm 1st Pool D vs Winner 27 (32).

Semi-finals – December 15, 2018: 16 pm Winner 29 vs Winner 32 (33) and 18:39 pm Winner 30 vs Winner 31 (34).

Final – December 16, 2018: 16:30 pm Bronze Medal match Loser 33 vs Loser 34 and 19 pm Gold Medal Match Winner 33 vs Winner 34. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles