India aim at maiden whitewash over hosts SL

Sports, International (Galle, Sri Lanka), August 11:- With the three-match Test cricket series already in the bag, a ruthless India will aim to continue their domination in the third match, beginning here on Saturday, as they eye a whitewash over the hosts for the first time.

Virat Kohli’s men have vanquished the Islanders in the first two Tests, posting easy wins through all-round performances.

In the first Test at Galle, India registered a 304-run triumph, while in the second Test at Colombo, the size of victory became bigger — an innings and 53 runs. The second Test also witnessed India defeating Sri Lanka by a margin of an innings in Sri Lanka for the first time.

If India win the third Test, they will win nine Tests in Sri Lanka, the most by a visiting side.

Coming into the third Test, to be played at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Sri Lanka have been weakened by injuries to veteran spinner Rangana Herath, pacer Nuwan Pradeep and all-rounder Asela Gunaratne. Especially, Herath’s absence, due to back stiffness, will give a headache to skipper Dinesh Chandimal.


The home bowling line-up has failed to curb the Indian batting. The visitors have piled 600 plus scores twice in the first two Tests, with the runs coming from all the batters.

Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara have all been among the runs. Moreover, the lower order too has contributed handsomely.

At least one change in the visiting side is guaranteed due to the suspension ofRavindra Jadeja, who has collected six demerit points inside a 24-month period.

Left-arm spinner Axar Patel has been named in the squad for the match. But left-arm wrist (chinaman) spinner Kuldeep Yadav seems to be the front-runner to take the position of Jadeja.

The 22-year-old Uttar Pradesh talent was impressive in his only Test till date — against Australia in March in Dharamsala, picking up four wickets. If fielded, it will be another great opportunity for him to showcase his precocity against a side clearly low on confidence.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Abhinav Mukund, Rohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav.

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain),Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Gamage, Dilruwan Perera, Malinda Pushpakumara, Lakshan Sandakan. (MR, Inputs: Agencies).

Simple Share Buttons