CricketHeadlinesInternational SportsNational Sports

India announce playing XI for Adelaide Test vs Australia

Virat Kohli to lead Team India; Prithvi Shaw and Wriddhiman Saha get the nod

Prime News, National and International Sport, Cricket, Mumbai, December 16:- The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday (December 16) announced the Team India playing XI for the first Test against Australia at the Adelaide Oval, starting December 17 (Thursday).

Opener Prithvi Shaw gets the green signal over Shubman Gill whereas Wriddhiman Saha will take the wicket-keeping gloves over Rishabh Pant, who smoked a century in the pink-ball warm-up match against Australia A.

Virat Kohli will lead the side and this will be the only Test he will play in this four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Mayank Agarwal will pair up with Prithvi Shaw up top as the latter get the green signal ahead of Shubman Gill, who looked in great touch during the two warm-up matches against Australia A.

The Indian middle-order completes itself with the likes of Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara and Hanuma Vihari filling up the slots. Interestingly, Wriddhiman Saha has been preferred over Rishabh Pant. The young southpaw smashed a terrific century in the pink-ball warm-up match against Australia A but has to sit out of the match.

The Indian bowling attack comprises the likes of Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah with Umesh Yadav coming in as the third seamer. Ravichandran Ashwin has been picked as the sole specialist spinner in the team.

“I would like to say that I have always been myself,” Indian skipper Kohli said during a virtual media conference ahead of the opening Test against Australia here starting Thursday.

Team India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles