JD(S) outplays Cong, wins Mysuru APMC election

The Janata Dal (S) walks out with a lion’s share as the results of closely contested Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee(APMC) for farmers and traders constituencies were announced on Wednesday. The party supporters turned joyous and busted crackers to celebrate their victory outside the People’s Park College – the counting venue – as seven out of 14 seats were captured by JD(S) backed candidates.

While JD(S) and Congress fought closely with the latter winning in six constituencies, BJP backed candidates were nowhere to be seen in the race, losing by huge numbers.

The winners from JD(S) are Kotehundi Madevu from Srirampura,Javarappa from Alanahalli, S Siddegowda from Jaipura, Gouri Borappa from Ilwala, Nagaraj from Gungral, Nagaraju from Sinduvalli constituencies while Mahesh Gowda won TAPCMS.


Congress managed to win in six constituencies. While the Congress whitewashed chief minister Siddaramaiah’s Varuna assembly constituency which consists of five APMC constituencies, it also grabbed a seat in Chamundeshwari constituency which is considered as a den of JD(S).

Basavaraju won from Devalpura, M K Anand from Varuna, Savitramma from Sidlingapura, K Prabhu Swami from Beerihundi constituencies while Raghu was elected unanimously for HOPCOMS. In may be mentioned that CM’s relative Basavaraj won by only 53 votes in Yadakola constituency.

S Prakash is the only independent candidate to win in the election. Prakash won the traders’ union election.

The APMC election to elect new members was held in Mysuru Taluk on January 16. As much as 40.60 percent of the voters exercised their franchise. The taluk had a total 1,00,999 voters and only 41,002 voters cast their votes.

In the previous AMPC election, Congress had won seven seats, JD(S) four, BJP two and one by an independent candidate.


Leave a Reply



Related Articles