Jeffrey C Hall, Michael Rosbash, Michael W Young win Nobel Prize in Medicine

Prime News, International, Medicine, London, October 2:-  Jeffrey C Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W Young have been awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

They have been given the honour “for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms that control circadian rhythms.” All three winners are from the US. The Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Instituet in Stockholm announced the winners on Monday.

According to the Nobel committee’s citation, Jeffrey C Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W Young were recognised for their discoveries explaining “how plants, animals and humans adapt their biological rhythm so that it is synchronised with the Earth’s revolutions.”

Scientists share prize awarded for discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling circadian rhythms – the body’s inner clock – fundamental to human health

-(NGB, Inputs: Agencies) 

Leave a Reply



Related Articles