Karnataka Assembly Polls 2018: Counting of votes begins

Prime News, Karnataka, National, Bengaluru/Mysuru, May 15:- Counting of votes for the Karnataka Assembly elections began at 8 am today, in what is expected to be a nail biting finish, with most of the exit polls predicting a hung Assembly.

The counting of votes for  elections is underway, and based on the early trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 55 seats while Congress has registered a lead on 29 seats.

The third key player, Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S) is leading in 21 seats, while BSP is leading in one seat.

In one of the most high-profile and bitterly fought elections in the recent times, a total of 222 of the 224 seats went for polls involving a three-cornered contest between the ruling Congress, the BJP and former prime minister H D Deve Gowda’s JD(S).

The JD(S) may or may not win the elections, but will play the kingmaker if the electorate gives a split verdict, making HD Deve Gowda an important player in the state politics once again.

It would be clear post noon whether the voters in Karnataka have given their verdict decisively as being claimed by the political parties, or for a hung assembly as projected by a majority of the post-poll surveys.

The counting began today at 38 counting centres across the state, amid high security. –(Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles