Karnataka Cabinet: 29 ministers take oath; no deputy CMs

BSY's son BY Vijayendra fails to make the cut

Prime News, State (Bengaluru), August 4:-As many as 29 BJP MLAs took oath as ministers here on Wednesday (August 4) afternoon. Karnataka Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administering the oath of office and secrecy to the new council of ministers.

Govind Karjol, KS Eshwarappa, R Ashoka and B Sriramulu were the first ones to be sworn in. Shashikala Jolle, Arvind Limbavali, V Sunil Kumar, MTB Nagaraj, Murgesh Nirani, Umesh Katti, Araga Gnanendra, Dr. K Sudhakar, S T Somashekar, Byrati Basavraj and Narayan Gowda also made to the cabinet.

Govind Karjol

Dr. CN Ashwath Narayan, Munirathna, K Gopalaiah, J Madhuswamy, Halappa Achar, Kota Sreenivas Poojari, Prabhu Chauhan, V Somanna, S Angara, Anand Singh  CC Patil and BC Nagesh joined Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai’s cabinet.

Bommai said that he has been advised to do away with Deputy Chief Ministers’ berths.  He said, “Last time, under the cabinet headed by B S Yediyurappa, we had three Deputy CMs. This time, the high command has decided not to have Deputy CMs,” he said. The announcement has put an end to speculation that the number of Deputy CMs would be more than last time.

According to sources, eight of Bommai’s ministers will be from the Lingayat community, seven each from Vokkaliga and OBC, one woman, three from scheduled castes, one from scheduled tribe and two from other communities.

“I had a detailed discussion with the high command regarding the cabinet formation yesterday and the day before,” said Bommai on arrival from New Delhi

Meanwhile, former minister R Shankar, who is not included in today’s list, stated that “it is unfair and he needs justice. BJP came to power because of us and I was promised I will be made a minister.”

The BJP MLAs who did not make it to the new cabinet are Jagadish Shettar, S Suresh Kumar, R Shankar, CP Yogeshwar, Shrimant Patil and Laxman Savadi.

Supporters of a few MLAs have begun protests in different parts of the state over the alleged “non-selection” of their respective leaders. -NAV, Inputs: Agencies.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles