Karnataka Premier League Fifth Edition from Sept 16

The Karnataka State Cricket Association has announced the Fifth Edition of the Karnataka Premier League powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies from September 16 and October 1. The matches will be played in Mysuru and Hubballi and the tournament will be a tribute to Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar.

The decision was taken at the launch event held at Hotel Quorum in the city on Saturday. Arjun Ranga, Owner, Mysuru Warriors, P R Ashok Anand, Hon. President, KSCA, Brijesh Patel, Hon. Secretary, KSCA and Sudhir Hasija, Chairman, Karbonn Smart Mobiles were present.

The first phase will be held at the SDNR Wadiyar Cricket Ground from September 16 to 22. The Hubballi phase will be staged at the KSCA Stadium in Raj Nagar from September 24 to October 1. Both the semi-finals and the final will be held in Hubballi.

The Karnataka Premier League is the most awaited cricketing event of the year in Karnataka leading to the spotting, nurturing and showcasing of young talent.  Pioneered by the Karnataka State Cricket Association in 2009 as a launch pad for the state’s talented youngsters, the success of KPL has exceeded expectations.

“The best aspect of KPL is the increasing number of cricketers it has helped unearth and develop. This, in turn, has impacted positively on the fortunes of players and the state,” said Brijesh Patel, Hon. Secretary, KSCA.

The IPL franchises’ talent scouts, who flock to KPL venues in search of fresh, exciting talent, lapped up these young players at the IPL auction and made them household names.

Shivil Kaushik went from anonymity to an IPL contract with Gujarat Lions and now a contract with English club Hull City in the Yorkshire league, all in one season, after coming into limelight at the KPL.

Taking note of the excellent success of KPL, other associations, TNCA, Kerala, Mumbai and Bengal are reportedly in the process of developing a similar league within their geographical areas.

Besides benefitting players, KPL has also contributed to upgrading cricketing infrastructure of the state. Hubballi and Mysuru, where the KPL would be held this year, have excellent cricket stadiums, including floodlight facilities for day-night cricket. The top class nets facilities are a boon to the regions’ local cricketers who use them throughout the year.

“This year, the matches will be staged in the upgraded stadium of Hubbali and Mysuru. In the near future we hope to host some matches in Shivamoga and Mangalore too,” said PR Ashok Anand, President, KSCA.

“We are extremely delighted about this collaboration, KPL will help talent to be recognized, which might lead to national opportunity,” said Arjun M. Ranga, Managing Partner, NR Group & Managing Director, Cycle Pure Agarbathies. 


  • The 5th Edition of the KPL powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies
  • Dates: September 16 to 22 at Mysuru and September 24 to October 1 at Hubbali
  • Semifinals and Final at Hubbali
  • Player Retention: Four players per team

Roll of Honour (Champions):

  • 2009: Provident Bangalore Rural
  • 2010: Mangalore United
  • 2014: Mysuru Warriors
  • 2015: Bijapur Bulls

The Teams:

  • Mysuru Warriors
  • Bijapur Bulls
  • Belagavi Panthers
  • Bellary Tuskers
  • Hubli Tigers
  • Mangalore United
  • Namma Shivamogga
  • Rock Stars

Leave a Reply



Related Articles