2019 Lok Sabha polls: Counting to begin at 8 am on May 23, says DC Sankar

Mysuru, May 9:- “The counting of votes for the Mysuru-Kodagu Lok Sabha Constituency will begin at 8 am on May 23. All the preparations have been made at the counting centre at Paduvarahalli,” said Election Officer and Deputy Commissioner Abhiram G Sankar.

He was speaking to media persons in the city on Thursday.

“All the preparations have been made at the counting centre. Security has been provided. Around 45 CCTV cameras have been set up and there will be uninterrupted power supply. One officer above the inspector grade and another officer from our side will be on duty for 24 hours,” he said.

“All the preparations are in place for the counting of votes. For the counting of votes at 6 polling units of 8 constituencies, 2 rooms each and 14 tables have been provided. Three employees have been allotted per table. Single combined hall is provided for Chamundeshwari and Chamaraja Constituencies. Postal ballot papers will be counted in the presence of an election officer. EVM voting will begin at 8 am. Training will be held for candidates and agents the next week. Cross verification is allowed at all stages. Every process will be made transparent. Each table will have an officer, staff and micro-observers. The booths have been selected randomly through a draw of lots in each constituency. It has to be taken in order; otherwise, it will take 2 or 3 hours more.  We will get a clear picture by 2 pm,” he added. (MR/KS)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles