Mamata announces list of 42 candidates for LS polls

Political News, Nation, (Kolkata), March 12:-The Trinamool Congress on Tuesday released its list of 42 candidates who will be contesting the Lok Sabha elections. Former actor and TMC member Moon Moon Sen will be contesting against union minister Babul Supriyo from Asansol Lok Sabha constituency. Notable exceptions who did not make the cut in the TMC list are: Sugata Bose, Sandhya Roy, Uma Soren, Idris Ali, Subrata Bakshi. The state will vote in the general elections in seven phases.

Subrata Mukherjee will contest from Bankura, earlier represented by actor Moon Moon Sen. Manas Ranjan Bhuiyan will fight from Mednipore. Mamata Banerjee announces that filmstars Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty will contest the Lok Sabha elections this time on behalf of TMC. Actor and Ghatal MP Dev (Deepak Adhikari) to contest again from the same seat.

Former railway minister Dinesh Trivedi will contest from Barrackpore for the third consecutive term. From Raigunj, Kanhaiyalal Agarwal is TMC candidate for Lok Sabha elections.  From Malda Uttar, former Congress MP Mausam Noor will fight on TMC symbol this time. Mohua Mitra will fight from Krishnagar and Mamata Bala Thakur will fight from Bongaon.

TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee announces that her party will field 40.5 percent female candidates in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. West Bengal has 42 Lok Sabha seats. “This is a proud moment for us,” said Banerjee.

Before announcing the list of TMC candidates for the 42 Lok Sabha seats in Bengal, Mamata Banerjee declares the names of five sitting MPs who won’t contest the polls for various reasons. “Jadavpur MP Sugata Bose will not contest because he hasn’t got permission from Harvard university where he is a professor. Sandhya Roy won’t contest because she is not keeping well. Senior leaders Subrata Bakshi and Uma Soren will work for the party,” she said.

-(NAV, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles