Minister GT Devegowda presents annual awards to 8 journalists

Devegowda assures to provide Rs 5 lakh health coverage to scribes and their families

Mysuru, July 20:- Higher Education Minister G T Devegowda presented the annual awards for the journalists and photo-journalists at a function organised in the city on Friday.

Mysuru District Journalists’ Association (MDJA) organised the Kannada Press Day and annual award ceremony at Rajendra Kalamandira on Ramanuja Road here.

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy who was scheduled to take part in the award ceremony was absent due to delay in reaching Mysuru. However, Minister for Higher Education G T Devegowda presented the annual awards.

Speaking on the occasion, G T Devegowda said, “Media being the fourth pillar of democracy after the Judiciary, Executive and Legislature has the strength to correct the other three. The media has the responsibility to tell the truth, be unbiased and report the issues concerning the society without any compromise.”

The minister assured to provide Rs 5 lakh health coverage to the journalists and their family members and also Rs 50 lakh relief fund to those journalists who succumb in the event of an accident.

The Lifetime Achievement award was conferred to senior journalist Rajkumar Bhavasar, while ‘Reporter of the Year’ award was presented to Harish Talakadu and ‘Photographer of the Year’ award was given to Udayashankar, Sub-editor of the Year award to Doddanahahundi Rajanna, Rural Photographer of the Year Pramod, Rural Journalist of the Year Hanagodu Nataraj, Senior TV Reporter award to Rangaswamy and Cameraman of the Year award to Nitin Rao.

Senior journalist Ravi Hegde, president of MDJA C K Mahendra, general secretary K J Lokesh Babu, MLA  AH Vishwanath, president of State Hotel Owners’ Association Rajendra and others were present. -KK

Leave a Reply


Related Articles