MLC polls: Electoral Commissioner holds meet with contestants

Two independent candidates V S Siddaraju and N R Ravichan­dregowda have withdrawn their nominations on Thursday and 17 candidates are in the fray for upcoming Legislative Council elections for South Graduates’ Constituency which is sched­uled to be held on June 9.

Electoral Commissioner and Regional Commissioner A M Kunjappa who held a meet­ing with the poll contestants, explained on the election code of conduct and also issued a copy of norms. He instructed the candidates to submit all the details of campaign ex­penditure to the District Com­missioner office. Meanwhile, the voting will be held in 130 polling booths in which 11 are in Chamarajanagar, 34 in Man­dya, 26 in Hassan and 59 in Mysuru. It is most likely to be triangular fight among Congress, BJP and JD(S) candi­dates, the experts predict that second preferential vote may play a major role in this election. Meanwhile, BJP leader former chief minister Jagadish Sheffer along with other leaders visited CPC Polytechnic and cam­paigned for BJP candidate M Y Ravishankar on Thursday.

The final list of candidates:

  • M Y Ravishankar (BJP),
  • Dr H N Ravindra (Congress)
  • KT Shrikantegowda – JD(S)
  • H K Krishna (Karunada Party)
  • K P Chidananda (SP)
  • Nagabhushana Aradhya (Samajawadi Janatha Party)
  • Vatal Nagaraj (Kannada Chaluvali Party)


  • Dr Krishnamurthy Chamaram
  • R K Govil
  • Prof K S Bhagawan
  • H N Manjegowda
  • Manju G N
  • P S Yedurappa
  • Ravishankar M N
  • Rajiv Shrirangaraju
  • Vishwanath G S
  • Veerabhadraswamy N

Leave a Reply



Related Articles