Muttiah first Lankan to enter ICC Hall of Fame

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced that spin legend Muttiah Muralitharan will become the first player from the nation to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame during the 2017 Champions Trophy, which is to be held in England and Wales in June.

Muralitharan will be joined by former Australia captain Karen Rolton, Arthur Morris of Don Bradman’s ‘invincibles’ and George Lohmann, the 19th century fast bowler who took 100 wickets in just 16 Tests.
They will be presented with commemorative caps honouring their contribution to the game, with family members representing Lohmann and Morris at the presentations.

Muralitharan, whose last international fixture was the World Cup final in 2011, finished his career with 800 wickets in Tests, 534 in ODIs and 13 wickets in 12 T20Is.

He was also a big part in Sri Lanka’s ODI successes from 1993 to 2011 and was a member of the squads that won the World Cup in 1996 and shared the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy with India. -(KK, MR) – AGENCIES

Simple Share Buttons