Mysuru Dasara will be inaugurated on October 7: Minister ST Somashekar

Prime News, Karnataka, Festival, Mysuru, September 9:- Gaja Payana (procession of elephants) will begin from Hunsur’s Veeranahosahalli on September 13, said District Minister S T Somashekar here on Wednesday (September 8).

He was talking after the meeting of Dasara working committee at Mysuru Palace premises. “Eight elephants, that have been shortlisted for Dasara, will be arriving in the city on September 16. Rs 50 lakh has been earmarked for the maintenance of the elephants.”

Somashekar said, “On October 7, Dasara will be formally inaugurated at Chamundi Hills. Inaugurator’s name will be decided by Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai. Beginning October 7, there will be cultural programmes at the Mysuru Palace premises regularly. On October 15 at 4.36 pm, which is the last day of Dasara, Nandi puja will be held followed by Jamboo Savari.”

The minister said, “The lighting arrangement has been limited to 100 km within the city and three tableaux have been permitted. The number of people who will be allowed to witness Dasara will be decided after September 23.”

He said, “Experts have warned of the third wave of coronavirus in the months of September and October. The number of people who will be part of Dasara will be decided after taking the pandemic situation into account. On October 17, Dasara jumbos will be given a send-off.”

Mysuru-Kodagu Member of Parliament Pratap Simha, MLAs S A Ramadass, G T Deve Gowda, K T Srikantegowda, Niranjan Kumar, L Nagendra, B Harshavardhan, Mayor Sunanda Palanetra, Mysuru Urban Development Authority chairman H V Rajeev, Mysore Paints and Varnish Limited chairman N V Phaneesh, Jungle Lodges and Resorts chairman M Appanna, Karnataka Exhibition Authority (KEA) chairman A Hemanth Kumar Gowda, Mahadevaswamy, Krishnappa Gowda, Dinesh Gooligowda, Mysuru Deputy Commissioner Dr Bagadi Gautham, Additional DC Dr B S Manjunathaswamy, Mysuru Commissioner of Police Dr Chandragupta, Mysuru district Superintendent of Police R Chetan, Zilla Panchayat CEO A M Yogeesh, DCF Dr V Karikalan and other officials were present. (MR/GK)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles