National Committee headed by PM formed to commemorate 75 years of India’s Independence

Prime News, National, Democracy, New Delhi, March 6:- The government has constituted a National Committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to commemorate 75 years of India’s Independence.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

The committee has 259 members and includes dignitaries and eminent citizens from all walks of life. It will provide policy direction and guidelines for formulation of programmes for the commemoration of 75th anniversary of Indian Independence, at the national and international levels.

The 75 years of India’s Independence falls on August 15, 2022 and celebrations are proposed to be launched 75 weeks prior to this date on March 12, 2021. March 12 marks the 91st anniversary of the historic “Salt Satyagraha” led by Mahatma Gandhi.

The committee will hold its first meeting on Monday (March 8) to discuss modalities relating to preparatory activities. The government intends to commemorate 75 years of India’s Independence in a befitting manner at the national and international level in the form of ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav.’

A National Implementation Committee had earlier been constituted for the commemoration to guide the policies and programmes to be undertaken by various ministries. A ‘committee of secretaries’ has also been set up for this purpose. In his Independence Day speech in 2017, Modi had said that  “If each one of us, irrespective of where he belongs to, strives with a new resolve, a new energy, a new strength, we can change the face of the country with our combined strength in the 75th year of our independence in 2022. It will be New India – a secure, prosperous and strong nation.” (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply


Related Articles