New Karnataka ministers get portfolios; CM Bommai keeps finance, cabinet affairs

First-time Minister Araga Jnanendra allocated Home Ministry

Prime News, Karnataka, Politics, Bengaluru, August 7:- Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai on Saturday (August 7) allocated portfolios to the 29 sworn-in ministers in the new cabinet.
The chief minister kept key departments including finance, Bengaluru Development, and Cabinet Affairs among other unallocated portfolios with himself.
Minister in B S Yediyurappa’s cabinet K S Eshwarappa got Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Development.

Meanwhile, R Ashoka got Revenue (except Muzarai) and B Sriramulu was given Transport and ST Welfare.

V Somanna, a Lingayat leader, has been given housing, infrastructure development, while Prabhu Chavan received animal husbandry.

Anand Singh has been allocated the ecology and environment department.

First-time minister Araga Jnanendra received home ministry, excluding intelligence, while Govind Makthappa Karajol is allocated major and medium irrigation departments.

Murugesh Rudrappa Nirani received the large and medium industries portfolio and Umesh Vishwanath Katti was given forest, food, civil supplies, and consumer affairs.

Dr K Sudhakar will retain health and family welfare, and medical education, while Dr Ashwath Narayan C N, will remain Minister for higher education, IT and BT, science and technology, skill development.

Angara S: Fisheries, ports and inland transport

J C Madhuswamy: Minor irrigation, law, Parliamentary affairs, and legislation

Chandrakantagouda Patil: Public Works Department (PWD)

Kota Shrinivas Poojari: Social welfare, backward classes welfare

Arabail Hebbar Shivaram: Labour ministry

S T Somasehkhar: Co-operation department

B C Patil: Agriculture department

B S Basavaraja: Urban development (including KUWSDB & KUDIDFC, excluding Bengaluru development, BBMP, BDA, BWSSB, BMRDA, BMRCL, and directorate of town planning, urban development department)

K Gopalaiah: Excise from the finance department

Jolle Shashikala Annasaheb: Muzarai, Hajj & Wakf

N Nagaraju (MTB): Municipal administration, small scale industries, public sector industries

K C Narayanagowda: Sericulture, youth empowerment, and sports

B V Nagesh: Primary and secondary education and Sakala

V Sunil Kumar: Energy department, Kannada, and culture

Achar Halappa Basappa: Mines and geology from commerce and industries department, women and child development, and physically challenged & senior citizens empowerment

Shankar B Patil Munenakoppa: Handloom and textile department from C & I department, sugarcane development, and directorate of sugar.

Munirathna: Horticulture and planning, programme monitoring, and statistics department

29 ministers, including six new faces, were sworn-in in the new Cabinet of recently appointed Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraja Bommai. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB, NAV)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles