Newly elected MLAs Sharanu Salagar, Basanagouda Turvihal sworn in  

Political News, Karnataka, Bengaluru, June 9:-BJP candidate Sharanu Salagar who won from Bidar Assembly constituency in the recent by-election was sworn in as a member of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly on Tuesday (June 8).

Before proceeding to Assembly Speaker Kageri Vishweshwar Hegde’s office to take the oath, the new MLA called on chief minister B S Yediyurappa in his office.

Animal husbandry minister Prabhu Chavan accompanied the new BJP MLA.

The Congress candidate Basanagouda Turvihal, who won from the Maski assembly constituency of Raichur district, was also sworn in separately on Tuesday.

After being sworn in as MLA, Turuvihal visited the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) office and was felicitated by party president, D K Shivakumar. State party working president, Saleem Ahmed, Dhruvanarayan, AICC secretary, N S Bosaraju, MLAs Hulageri, former MP Basavanagouda Daddal, former MLA Hampanagouda Badarli, district Congress president, B V Naik and former president, Vasant Kumar were also present.

The KPCC chief said the party was able to win the Maski seat because of the united and dedicated efforts put in by all sections and leaders. The Congress party was unsuccessful in the Belagavi Lok Sabha by-poll despite the combined efforts and struggle by the candidate and partymen. In the Basavakalyan assembly by-election, the party candidate got himself admitted to the hospital.

“Victory or defeat, it is the responsibility and duty of all Congressmen to work together and fight unitedly. We must do our best to serve the people and we will be blessed,’’ he said. (NAV, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles