CricketHeadlinesKarnatakaMysoreNational Sports

South Zone Inter-University Men’s Cricket Tournament: Nikin Jose slams unbeaten ton in University of Mysore’s win

Mysuru, December 101:- Opener S J Nikin Jose slammed an unbeaten and responsible century (103 not out, 132b, 3×4), and helped hosts University of Mysore to register a facile six-wicket win over JNTU, Hyderabad and entered the final in the South Zone Inter-University Men’s Cricket Tournament 2019-20, played at the SDNR Wadayar Platinum Jubilee University Grounds at Manasagangothri here on Monday.

Put into bat JNTU, Hyderabad got off to a decent start with their openers P Sai Vikas Reddy (37, 46b, 4×4) and N Anirudh Reddy (49, 53b, 2×4, 3×6) adding 74-runs for the opening wicket. Wickets fell at regular intervals from then on, and JNTU could only post a total of 237/8 in 45 overs.  K Ashish (45 not out, 28b, 2×4, 2×6) used the long handle to purpose and boosted the team’s total. T V S Narayana Teja (22) and M Siddarth Naidu (21, 21b, 1×4, 1×6) were the other contributors. Left-arm spinner Tushar Harikrishna impressed with figures of 3/31.

In reply, University of Mysore, got off to a slow start with openers B Dheemanth (21, 27b, 1×4, 1×6) and S J Nikin Jose (103 not out) adding 33-runs for the opening wicket. After the loss of Goutham Sagar (2) early, the third-wicket pair of Nikin Jose and Kishan S Bedare 56 (58b, 6×4) added 116-runs and took their team towards victory. M Venkatesh (24 not out, 26b, 3×4) and D Amruth Raj (20) were the other scorers. University of Mysore scored 238 for 4 in 44.2 overs and registered a six-wicket win.

In the other semi-final, defending champion Jain University, Bengaluru lost to Hindustan IT & S University, Chennai by two-wickets. In a low scoring match at JSS-SJCE Grounds, batting first, Jain University’s top-order batsman failed as medium-pacer D Rahul took 4 for 29.  Kishore Kamath’s 49 not out (59b, 4×4, 4×6) boosted the team’s total to 115 in 29.5 overs. Samruddh Bhat and N S Harish took two wickets each.

S Siddarth of Hindustan IT & S

In reply, Hindustan IT & S, Chennai, were well served by opener S Siddarth (55, 40b, 9×4), and helped their team pull out a narrow two-wicket win by scoring 116/8 in 20.5 overs. Left-arm spinner A Pranav Bhatia impressed with figures of 4/39, while Kishore Kamath and Vyshak Vijay Kumar took two wickets each.

All the four teams qualified for the All-India Inter-University Cricket Tournament for men 2019-20. The final is slated for Tuesday with University of Mysore taking on Hindustan IT & S, Chennai in the title clash at SDNR Wadayar Grounds.

Scores: Semi-final – JNTU, Hyderabad 237/8 in 45 overs ( N Anirudh Reddy 49, P Sai Vikas Reddy 37, T V S Narayana Teja 22, M Siddarth Naidu 21, Tushar Harikrishna 3/31) lost to University of Mysore 238/4 in 44.2 overs( S J Nikin Jose 103 not out, Kishan S Bedare 56, M Venkatesh 24 n.o, D Amruth Raj 20). Man of the Match: S J Nikin Jose.

Jain University, Bengaluru 115 in 29.5 overs ( Kishore Kamath 49 not out, Rohan Nayakar 25, Aditya Somanna 22, D Rahul four for 29, Samrudh Bhat 2/20, N S Harish 2/34) lost to Hindustan IT & S, Chennai 116/8 in 20.5 overs ( S Siddarth 55, A Pranav Bhatia 4/39, Kishore Kamath 2/20, Vyshak Vijaykumar 2/16). Man of the Match: Kishore Kamath. (MR)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles