Nominations for MLC elections pick up momentum

On the last day of filing nomi­nations for the MLC polls, for­mer MLC K T Srikantegowda filed his nomination at the Re­gional Commissioner’s Office on Monday. He is represent­ing Janata Dal (S).

Kannada Chaluvali Vatal Paksha president and for­mer MLA Vatal Nagaraj, for­mer syndicate member of the university of Mysore and Congress rebel candidate H N Manchegowda, R K Govil, also filed their nominations on Monday. About 15 nom­inations have been filed by 10 candidates so far. With this, the political battle of the graduate constituency is assuming significance. Three candidates from the Congress, BJP and JD(S) are leaving no stone unturned to stay ahead. While Dr Ravin­dra representing the Con­gress, M V Ravishankar is contesting from the BJP.

There are many candi­dates who have filed nomi­nations independently which is likely to affect the parties’ poll performance. Rationalist Professor K S Bhagawan, Dr Krishnamurthy Chamaram, P S Yadurappa, Aradya, Vatal Nagaraj have filed nomina­tions. The last date for with-drawl is May 26. Some of the candidates have filed 2-3 nominations to avoid rejection during scrutiny by the elector­al officers.

Meanwhile, the Congress is facing a rebellion from some of the disgruntled par­ty members who were de­nied tickets.

Karnataka Pradesh Con­gress Committee member YS Siddaraju and UoM former Senate Member H N Manche­gowda expressed unhappi­ness over the turn of events.

Siddaraju questioned Home Minister G Paramesh­wara why he is extending support to a Dalit candidates to contest the elections.

Leave a Reply



Related Articles