NR Golf Open Championship enthralls Madikeri; winners announced

Mysuru, November 5:- NR Group, the agarbathi to aerospace conglomerate, announced the winners of NR Golf Open Championship 2019 held at Mercara Downs Golf Club on Sunday (November 3).

Runner up – Ranjith KP

An annual event, the tournament witnessed around 75 golf enthusiasts participating across 8 categories. The tournament was teed off by I K Anil, captain of the Mercara Downs Golf Club.

Dwarakanath, national sales manager, Cycle Pure Agarbathies, presented the trophies to the winners. I K Anil,  Harish Appanna, secretary, Mercara Downs Golf Club and K P Ranjith, tournament convenor, were present.

Anil said that “The club is honoured to have the NR Group who sponsor sporting events all over the globe, be it cricket or golf. Their maiden venture to sponsor this prestigious event in Kodagu known as ‘Scotland of India’ is truly commendable. This is also an encouragement to rural golfing talent.”

Elaborating on the association, Dwarakanath, said, “Seeing NR Golf Championship growing bigger and better every year is our biggest achievement. The overwhelming participation will motivate us to continue with our aim of strengthening the game at all levels. We congratulate all the winners and thank the participants for making this a success.”

A prestigious championship, this year the tournament witnessed competition across 8 categories and the winners of each of the category are: Open Strokeplay – Rolling Trophy donated by NR Group, winner: Amogh Devaiah 75, runner-up: Ranjith K P 76.

Net Strokeplay (0-18): Rolling Trophy donated by NR Group, winner: Faiz Moosa Kutty 63 Nett, runner-up: Rahul Kuttappa 66 Nett.

Handicap Stableford 0-18: Winner: Dinesh Cariappa 35 points (Back 9 -20), runner-up: Anil Pandey 35 (Back 9 -19).

Handicap Stableford 19-24: Winner: Kuttappa K.P 34 points, runner-up: Nagaraj M.P 32 points

Seniors Stableford (Full handicap above 60 years): Winner: Anil I.K 35 points, runner-up: Dr Ramesh Bopaiah 31 points.

Stableford Doubles (Team event Handicap 0-24): Winners: Faiz Moosa Kutty and Aiyappa MB 71 points, runners: Ranjith KP and Sunil Devaiah NC 65 points.

Closest to the Pin: Adithya Somaiah 19.8. (MR)


Leave a Reply



Related Articles