Prasad named new chairman of selectors; Shirke re-elected as secretary

Venkatesh Prasad has been appointed as the new chairman of selectors while Ajay Shirke was retained as the BCCI secretary in the board’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) today in Mumbai.
The decision was taken in Indian board’s 87th annual general meeting in Mumbai today.
In another major development, former Indian wicketkeeper batsman MSK Prasad was appointed as the new chairman of selectors.

Four others who will be in his panel are Devang Gandhi, Gagan Khoda, Sarandeep Singh and Jatin Paranjape.Earlier for the first time, BCCI released the advertisement to appoint national selectors on September 10.

Since the Lodha Committee had ordered to do away with the zonal system, the Indian board was forced to abandon the old method of appointing national selectors, which was done based on nominations received from the five zones.

The eligibility criteria mentioned by the BCCI in its advertisement also differed from the one set by the Lodha Committee.

According to the Committee’s guideline, only former India Test players would be eligible to be appointed to the men’s and women’s selection committees, provided they had been retired from the game for at least 5 years.

Simple Share Buttons